ABSI Community Advisory Board Members

A key component of the ABSI project is to involve stakeholders in a meaningful consensus building process for development and implementation of an ecosystem-based oyster management and restoration plan. This is accomplished through the Community Advisory Board (CAB) recently assembled by Florida State University and tasked with providing input into that initiative. The 24 members of the CAB include local government officials as well as representatives from the seafood industry, recreational fishing industry and environmental groups. To find meeting dates, deliberations, and reading material for all CAB Meetings, please refer to this page: https://marinelab.fsu.edu/absi/cab/.

Georgia Ackerman

Apalachicola Riverkeeper, Executive Director

Chip Bailey

Peregrine Charters, Owner

Lee Edmiston

Apalachicola National Estuarine Research Reserve, Former Reserve Manager, 

Jim Estes

FWC Division of Marine Fisheries Department, Deputy Director

Tom Frazer

Chief Science Officer for the State of Florida

Frank Gidus

CCA Florida, Director of Habitat & Environmental Restoration

Anita Grove

Apalachicola City Commissioner

Chad Hanson

PEW Charitable Trusts, Fisheries Science and Policy Analyst

Jenna Harper

Apalachicola National Estuarine Research Reserve (ANERR), Reserve Manager

Shannon Hartsfield

Waterman, Franklin County Seafood Workers Association 

Erik Lovestrand

Florida Sea Grant, Extension Director for Franklin County

Chuck Marks

Acentria Insurance, Vice President

Roger Mathis

Oysterman, R.D.'s Seafood

Vance Millender

Millender & Sons Seafood

Mike O'Connell

Saint George Island Civic Club, 2025 Vision

Smokey Parrish

Franklin County Commissioner

Steve Rash

Water Street Seafood, Owner

Alex Reed

Florida Department of the Environment (DEP), Office of Resilience and Coastal Protection, Director

Portia Sapp

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) Division of Aquaculture, Director

John Solomon

Apalachicola Chamber of Commerce

Chadwick Taylor

Riparian County Stakeholder Coalition

Paul Thurman

Northwest Florida Water Management District (NWFWMD), Environmental Scientist

TJ Ward

Buddy Ward & Sons Seafood

Cary Williams

Apalachicola Oyster Company, Owner

Last Updated: Monday, April 20, 2020 at 9:11 AM